If We Were Having Coffee…

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am sad.  I am sad that a visit from my mom next week has been shortened to just one night 😦  They have to be back home early, and can’t stay for the four nights as originally planned. That just sucks. I would tell you that I miss my mom when she’s not here. We had a very short three days together at the end of March after a six month seperation…but it wasn’t nearly enough. I would giggle an ironic laugh and say that it’s funny how the older I get, the more I want my mommy.  But I would also tell you that there is an upside. I bought plane tickets for me and the kids to go home in July. You would see me start to sweat as I think about having my first solo flight with my monsters. Its only 2 hours…its only 2 hours.  I can only hope that the people on our plane are kind during meltdowns.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m anxious. Some big girl decisions will be made on friday, and I’m going a little crazy. I would share all the painstakingly boring details and ask for your opinion. You would see the trepidation in my eyes from thinking of all the possible bad scenarios and stressing over the right choices to make for my family. I would tell you that I am much happier choosing paint colors and outfits for the kids than making adult decisions in life.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that my weekend was pretty awesome. I would be smiling as I told you about drinking mudslides and eating chicken wings with a close friend on friday night and spending most of our saturday outside, working in the garden. I’d describe in detail how we poorly planted bulbs and seeds and hacked up two stumps with a reciprocating saw as my neighbour laughed at us while saying “Bringin’ out the heavy artillery I see! Don’t destroy the house you two!” I would laugh and tell you that in the middle of our movie, we both turned to each other and said “you want chips? I want chips” and immediately got up and drove to the store for a bag of chips. I will then tell you that before the movie ended, I ate half a bag of those delicious chips and drank an entire litre of chocolate milk before needing to take a break to get sick. I would shake my head and giggle in embarrassment for how little self control I have when eating junk food. We would laugh knowing I will spend the rest of the week being sad and eating salads.

If we were having coffee, I would stand up and hug you. Life can be really boring and quite lonely sometimes, so I am always appreciative when you can make some time for me and enjoy a laugh and a latte. Thank you friend for having these moments…they mean the most.

Check in at Part Time Monster and see what other people may share with you over coffee.

coffee2

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

    • Thanks! I havent moved over to a self hosting yet so my options are limited. But I like it alot now too 🙂 I’ve only not cried twice in 30 years when saying by to my mom. Ugh…its so hard!

      Like

  1. Thank you for sharing with us. I totally understand you missing your mommy. My mommy is an angel in Heaven now for 7 years yesterday. Not a day goes by that I don’t remember her and then I hear her words coming out of my mouth. We were thick as thieves and so was my daughter. My daughter is also an angel in heaven with my mommy. At least I know they are together in a safe place.

    What a great post. Love that you can be so open about everything and I totally understand the response to the stump situation. Been there and done that. Good luck on your trip.

    Like

    • Thanks Trina! I’m sorry to hear about your mom and daughter…I cant even imagine how much you must miss them. But you are right. I am sure they are together and are enjoying watching over you. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

