Oohh, I’ve always loved the idea of summer!

“She reads books as one would breathe air; to fill up and live” – Annie Dillard

Well…I have given up reading Russel Brand’s My Booky Wook. I got through 60+ pages and called it quits. I was really hoping that by learning more about his childhood and crazy life, it might give me better insight to his revolution ideas and intentions. Buuuuut, I just couldn’t get into it.  The English references were lost on me, so most of the humor was over my head.  And truthfully, I just didn’t care to read about his sex life and the drugs. Sorry bro…just not my thing.  I will try reading Revolution because I really do enjoy his podcasts and several interviews he has done on the subject, but not for a while. Because………..

ITS SUMMER BOOK LIST TIME!!!

There is just something incredibly relaxing about sitting under the warm sun with drink in hand, reading a good book. I’d love to be under a tiki hut on a beach somewhere waiting for Juan to bring me an extra slushy rum punch, but lazing in my camping chair in the backyard while the kids throw grass at me will be perfect too 🙂

I have scoured Pintrest, reads reviews from fellow bloggers, and taken suggestions from friends and family to compile my 2015 summer reading list. I am naturally drawn to series, so I made a point of choosing single books this time…I hope!  In no particular order, the winners are:

  • Bone Dust White – Karin Salvalggio
  • We Were Liars – E. Lockhart
  • The Vacationers – Emma Straub
  • Dark Places – Gillian Flynn
  • Adultery – Paulo Coelho
  • You – Caroline Kepnes
  • All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr
  • Landline – Rainbow Rowell
  • The Beach Club – Elin Hilderbrand
  • Paper Towns – John Greene

image

I was planning to start reading these books in May but I finished the Crossfire series last night, so I’ll be diving into one of these tonight. I think I will be true to my OCD nature and start with Adultery…you know, alphabetical and all!

What are YOU reading this summer?? Have I chosen a book you absolutely hated? I’d love to hear from you…I hate being disappointed in a book.

6 thoughts on “Oohh, I’ve always loved the idea of summer!

  1. Read “We were liars”. Loved it, I have been saving Adultery, it’s sitting on my shelf, so is Dark Places. I just finished The Cuckoo’s Calling and loved it so I’m reading Silkworm now. And I’ve been on a Jane Green and Sophie Kinsella binge lately. By the way awesome that I found you on Blog Loft.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have been waiting to read the Sophie books for a while…I’m not really sure what my hold up is? I love meeting fellow book worms who can suggest new books. I go through so many phases of what I want to read and usually miss some goodies. I’m so glad you are here 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

