#FoodieFriday – Cranberry Chicken

I love food and food loves me.  This will always be a fact.

Some of my family will say that I am a picky eater, but I don’t agree. Just because I can’t eat lasagna because the noodles are frilly or I refuse to eat a B.L.T sandwich without peanut butter…they think I’m picky and weird. Weird yes, picky no. I blame the peanut butter and mayonnaise combination on my Newfoundland roots. Mainlanders will never understand 🙂

I like to think that I am a decent cook or at least a pretty good recipe follower.  Every once in a while we stumble upon a recipe that we love or an “oops” turns into an amazing dish and it gets filed in the “keep forever” box.  Cranberry Chicken is one of those recipes.

I am not quite sure where this one came from initially.  My mom has been making cranberry chicken for me since grade school, so lets give her credit for the original version. Like all good things, this recipe has gotten better with age. If you ask my mom, she will tell you to grab a handful of garlic and a can of cranberries…the rest is up to you.  I’ve gotten a little more detailed and have now stuck to my version for about 10 years.  I’ve been asked several times to share the recipe and after getting the seal of approval from my father-in-law and a thumbs up from my brother-in-law, the professional chef, I guess we can call this one a winner.  So, in honor of Valentine’s Day, here is my most loved dish, Le Cranberry Chicken. Note: this dish is not loved because of its nutritional value!

In a 9×13 baking dish, mix together:

1 package  – Onion Soup Mix (I use the garlic one)

1 can – Whole Berry Cranberry Sauce

1 tbsp – Oil

3 tbsp – Ketchup (I used Heinz Chili Sauce for added heat)

1/2 cup – White Vinegar

1/2 cup – White Sugar

1 tbsp – Minced Garlic (use more if you wish)

1/2 tbsp – Red Chili Flakes

2 – 4 Chicken Breasts (whole or sliced)

Bake for 30-40 mins at 375 degrees. Serve over rice.  I usually steam asparagus or serve peas on the side as well.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “#FoodieFriday – Cranberry Chicken

Leave a Reply

